A Female Pastor of One Church Marries a Female Bishop of Another Church!

Posted: October 22, 2013 in Uncategorized

Bishop Allyson D. Nelson Abrams resigned from her position as pastor of Zion Progressive Baptist Church in Detroit, Mich., after revealing to her congregation that she was in a same-sex marriage.

Take our poll at the bottom of the story.

In an exclusive interview with NewsOne, Bishop Abrams said she married Bishop Emeritus Diana Williams of the Imani Temple of the African-American Catholic Congregation in Washington, D.C., in Iowa back in March, but choose to keep it private until she was ready to share it with the public.

Though rumors about the union began spreading around the church, forcing her to break the news sooner than she wanted.

”I could have been like so many people are and lied and said it’s not true,” Abrams, 43, said. ”But that’s not how I was raised and, as a Christian, I was always taught to be a truthful individual. So when it came up I said, ‘OK. I need to be honest with my congregation and tell them truth about what was a great event for me.”’

She opened up to her congregation about her marriage on Oct. 6 and said she would resign from her position to avoid being a distraction. Many of the members came up to her after the service and gave words of support and stated that they loved me. One even knew the name of the woman she married.

Her last day as pastor of Zion Progressive was yesterday.

”God has called me to pastor,” she said. ”God has gifted me. God has anointed me and given me great talents and abilities. I know that God has clearly equipped me to pastor and work with people, so this is not going to cause me not to walk in the gifts of God.”

Abrams says that her opening up about her marriage has not limited her. She sees herself guest preaching, speaking at revivals, or any event she can help spread the Lord’s word. ”If you want to say this way, God has enlarged my territory,” she said.

 

http://newsone.com/2742879/bishop-allyson-d-nelson-abrams-detroit-lesbian-pastor-resigns/ 

Leave a Reply

